2019年11月21日 ‑ 12月31日 (除星期日外) 上午10时 ‑ 下午7时 (9小时)
2019年11月24日 ‑ 12月29日 (逢星期日) 中午 ‑ 下午6时 (6小时)
香港中环云咸街52号 W Place


奥佩拉画廊·香港隆重呈现「越界:超越的数码艺术」群展,展出“现代影像艺术之父”白南准 (Paik Nam-June) 以及艺术家安东尼·詹姆斯 (Anthony James) 的作品。本次展览,奥佩拉画廊专门对展示现代艺术大师作品的标志性黑色展厅加以改造,为观众创造暗光下沉浸式艺术体验空间。

受数字化时代的影响,通讯和技术对传统视觉艺术产生了巨大冲击。创新性发明和创造性产物冲破艺术的原有界线,数码技术的进步为艺术的表达方式带来更多可能,并打破艺术、科学、技术和设计之间的重重壁垒。

本次展览深入探讨白南准和安东尼·詹姆斯运用全新科技的实验性艺术手法,展现科技发展对艺术创作的影响以及艺术家的超前理念。富有创新性和启发性的视觉艺术场域,将和观众间产生数字化时代下的新型互动。

世界级艺术大师白南准是率先将视觉元素纳入三维空间的艺术家之一。他善于通过镜头探索人类在多元科技社会中的状态,创造出崭新的艺术语言。白南准的作品《机械人》将影像装置和雕塑结合,充分展现科技与人类文化的相互影响。机械人本身由旧收音机和旧电视等家用电器组成,打造出类似人体的结构。艺术家藉此展示现代社会对于科技的过分依赖,并持续探索科技的“人性”边际。

多媒体艺术家安东尼·詹姆斯通过现代金属产品和科技化灯光构造出完美的抽象几何形状,筑造无限的视觉空间。在这位英国艺术家的表现性雕塑及装置艺术作品中,内部发光灯管和金属条在光线的折射下形成无限循环的对称结构,彷彿通向远方的虚空。安东尼·詹姆斯的代表作《50”二十面体》由二十面钢製的等边三角形组成,在内部发光灯管的照明下显示出清晰而迷幻的视觉效果。观众望向作品内部时,将置身于无尽的视觉迷宫之中。

21 Nov ‑ 31 Dec 2019 (except Sun) 10am ‑ 7pm (9 hours)
24 Nov ‑ 29 Dec 2019 (every Sun) noon ‑ 6pm (6 hours)
G/F - 3/F, W Place, 52 Wyndham Street, Central, Hong Kong
free
contributed by


Opera Gallery Hong Kong is delighted to present our new digital art exhibition, ‘Across Borders – Digital Art and Beyond’, featuring works from “Father of Video Art” Paik Nam-June and artist Anthony James. Opera’s signature Black Room, known for showcasing Modern masterpieces, will be transformed into an immersive digital art experience.

This exhibition is an exploration of two artists who have experimented with and pushed the limits of progressive technologies within their time. Impressed by the new technological developments and forward thinking concepts presented by these artists, Opera Gallery presents a different form of visual appreciation and interaction with the viewers in tune with the current world of digital dependency affecting every aspect of our lives today.

Paik Nam-June is undoubtedly one of the first recognised artists to incorporate visual inputs on to three-dimensional forms. The renowned Modern master Paik Nam-June envisioned to create a new visual language, exploring the human condition through the lens of technology and science that has continuously crossed borders and disciplines. Robot (Keystone Cop) is a combination of a video installation and sculpture, highlighting the intersection of technology and culture. The robot, made with found household electronics like old radios and television monitors, is rendered on a human scale. In this piece of art, the artist ridicules the growing dependence and reliance of modern society on technology and question the morality of technology and its possible “humanness”.

Multi-media artist Anthony James engages in the exploration of the representation of the impossible in his works with modern metals and technological lights arranged into geometric forms of abstraction. In the British/American artist’s performative sculptures and installations, the technological lights and metals reflect depth inside the work, play with reflection and refraction, symmetrically creating an infinite perfect form. His prominent works 50″ Icosahedron consists of twenty steel equilateral triangles, which become clear under the illumination of the internal light-emitting tubes.

Prior to the digital age, no one could have predicted how technological accessibility might enter into and affect the “traditional” visual art practice. What eventually transpired were inventive innovations and a creative output that pushed the boundaries of the art world. The manifestation of digital advancements into the art world has evolved into multiple strands of expression, collapsing the boundaries between art, science, technology and design.