2019年11月22日 ‑ 12月28日 (逢星期二至六) 上午11时 ‑ 下午7时 (8小时)
香港皇后大道中80号10楼
免费
提供


当代唐人艺术中心将于2019年11月22日,在香港H Queen’s 空间举办艺术家刘庆和的个展“踏浪”,展出艺术家近年创作的纸本水墨作品19件。


刘庆和是极具当代体验感和实验感的水墨艺术家。他关注当代都市,描绘当代人的视觉经验和心理感知,在探索中化解传统笔墨范式,创造出一种独特的与当下体验契合的表达方式。他以一种不同寻常的敏锐,真实地再现了社会中人的存在处境,渲染出一幅当代人类的精神图景。

刘庆和保持了自古以来文人对于现实若即若离的态度,即以一种“悠游”的状态穿行于都市的生活气息之中,以一种不加修饰也不加评说的视角,自然呈现现实生活中的人物情态。在他的笔下,尤其在对青年、女性、花季儿童心理意绪的体察中,准确地刻画了当代都市生活多棱镜式的现实,解读当代人的精神境况。


在刘庆和的水墨表达中,水墨的淋漓渗化营造出具有个性张力的空间,同时也有效地渲染着情绪氛围。在色墨氤氲中,人物形象得以浮现,人与环境的关系构成某种不可言传的奇异氛境。烟雾般的浓重墨色,渲染着当代人些许的不安,看似随意又精细的勾线,又暗喻着某种人与外部的心理关联。这种巧妙的表述,使得刘庆和的作品包含了更为形而上的生存体验。

展览名“踏浪”来自于展览中的一件作品名。 “踏浪”既是一种积极行动的过程,亦是一种轻盈而智慧的姿态。和“踏浪”相关的是艺术家对于水的运用。在2003年后,水的意象成为艺术家经常使用的主题。在包裹着孤独个体及若干群体的水域中,水可被视为一种境遇。而水的透明与折射,又衬托着人自身的存在,以及和他者的微妙关系。对水的观看和感知,则构成了对于当下现实生活的隐喻。这种隐喻关乎日常,进而释放出更多真实的质感和穿透力。

刘庆和创作的独特的当代水墨的身份特征,使他在全球化的形势下,越来越为人所关注。他用笔墨构成的与当下生活的直接联系,为人们提供了一种以水墨为契机的观看和感知,使人们重新审视自己的生活乃至文化。刘庆和的作品始终表达出对于当代生活最真实的感受和思考。这种思考使得他的作品造就了一种当代知识分子的具体的精神图像。

22 Nov ‑ 28 Dec 2019 (every Tue to Sat) 11am ‑ 7pm (8 hours)
香港皇后大道中80號10樓
free
contributed by


Tang Contemporary Art is proud to announce the opening of Liu Qinghe’s solo exhibition “Treading Waves,” featuring nineteen of his recent ink on paper works, on November 22, 2019, at the gallery’s Hong Kong space in H Queen’s.


Liu Qinghe is an ink artist with a strong contemporary, experimental sensibility. He focuses on contemporary cities, depicting the visual experiences and psychological perceptions of contemporary people. In the course of his explorations, he dissolves traditional brush and ink modes, creating a unique expressive method that fits with current experience. With unusual sensitivity, he truthfully represents the existential predicaments of people in society, painting a spiritual view of contemporary humanity.

Liu Qinghe maintains the lukewarm attitude to reality that the literati have exhibited since ancient times. He makes his way through life in the city in a leisurely and carefree way. Without adornment and without commentary, he naturally presents the figures’ moods in real life. In his painting, and particularly in his observations of the moods and mentalities of young people, women, and children, he accurately depicts the prismatic reality of contemporary urban life and interprets the spiritual conditions of contemporary people.


In Liu’s ink work, the dripping and permeation of ink construct a space with personal tension, while also effectively playing up the emotional atmosphere. The figures appear in a dense mist of color and ink; the relationship between the figures and their environments create an ineffable, strange ambience. The misty, dense ink reflects the slight unease of contemporary people, and the seemingly casual but meticulous lines suggest the psychological relationships between the figures and the outside world. This ingenious formulation gives Liu’s work a more metaphysical, existential experience.

“Treading Waves” titles after a work in the exhibition. Treading waves is the process of a carefree and positive action, reflecting a graceful, wise attitude. It also highlights the artist's use of water. Since 2003, this water imagery has become a frequent theme for the artist. Water is treated as the context to envelope isolated individuals and some groups. It is transparent and reflective, which sets off the existence of the figures and their subtle relationships with others. Viewing and perceiving water is a metaphor for real life today. This metaphor concerns the everyday, then presents more real textural and penetrating elements.

Liu Qinghe’s unique contemporary ink is receiving more attention in a globalizing world. He uses brush and ink to create a direct relationship with life today and present viewers with observations and perceptions in ink, a juncture that allows him to re-examine his own life and culture. Liu’s work has always expressed the most authentic feelings and considerations of contemporary life in concrete spiritual images made by a contemporary intellectual.