8 Jun 2017 (Thu) 8 ‑ 10pm (2 hours)
5 Edinburgh Place, Central, Hong Kong
$380 / $260 / $150
contributed by

“An aura of sophistication and tremendous intellectual integrity” The Herald

French cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras charms audience all over the world with his flawless technique and engaging performances. Acclaimed for his thorough approach both to early and contemporary music (with a long-lasting collaboration with Pierre Boulez) he continues to encompass that full range of instrumental works in his recitals – as tonight. Here, alternating with the first three of Bach’s Cello Suites, he features three contemporary composers, including a work composed for him by Jonathan Harvey.

Ivan Fedele, Arc-En-Ciel (2004)
Bach, Suite No 1 in G for Unaccompanied Cello, BWV1007
György Kurtág, Az Hit… (1998)
György Kurtág, Pilinszky János: Gérard de Nerval (1986)
György Kurtág, Signs, Games and Messages: Shadows (2007)
Bach, Suite No 3 in C for Unaccompanied Cello, BWV1009
Jonathan Harvey, Pre-echo for Jean-Guihen (2003)
Bach, Suite No 2 in D minor for Unaccompanied Cello, BWV1008

The performance will last for approximately 2 hours including one interval
URBTIXURBTIX | public sale
14 Mar 2017 (Tue) 10am onward