15 May 2022 (Sun) 3 ‑ 4pm (1 hour)

PIAZZOLLA (arr. Kenny CHOY) | The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires: Invierno Porteño (Winter), Primavera Porteña (Spring)
BRUCH | Romanze for Viola and Orchestra, op. 85
Frank BRIDGE | Lament for Two Violas
Yuet-ming David CHAN | Sauntering on Snowflake (World Premiere)
BOWEN | Fantasia for Four Violas, op. 41, no. 1
Christopher LOWRY | Romanza for Four Violas
VITALI (arr. Andrew LING) | Chaconne

The Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, in collaboration with HKU MUSE, is delighted to present a chamber music series spotlighting different sections of the orchestra. In this concert, the HK Phil Viola Section will demonstrate the rich, expressive power of this unique instrument with various ensemble pieces, as well as arrangements of two iconic works by Piazzolla and Vitali. The concert will also feature the world premiere of Sauntering on Snowflake, by HKU composer Yuet-ming David Chan.

The programme is approximately 1 hour without intermission.

HK Phil Viola Section
HK Phil Chief Executive Benedikt Fohr, special appearance (in Vitali's Chaconne)


Supported by
Department of Music, The University of Hong Kong
Endowment Funds for Music & Fine Arts

HKU Vaccine Pass
Please present an electronic version or a paper copy of your COVID-19 vaccination record for admission. For the latest vaccination requirements of the "Vaccine Pass", please visit HKU's COVID-19 Info Hub (https://covid19.hku.hk/control/hku-vaccine-pass/).
Art-Mate | public sale
27 Apr (Wed) 10am onward